List of Amendments in the U.S. Constitution

United States Constitution

Jack Smith
3 min readNov 16, 2020

The U.S. Constitution is made up of 27 Amendments, 10 of those from the Bill of Rights. This Article is a list of all the Amendments and what they mean.

This article sums up each individual amendments in a very simplified way, too learn more — check out our Constitution Series.

All U.S. Constitutional Amendments

1st Amendment — Freedom of speech, religion and press.

2nd Amendment — Right to keep and bear arms.

3rd Amendment — Restricts the quartering of soldiers in private homes.

4th Amendment — Prohibits unreasonable searches/seizures.

5th Amendment — Right to due process, remain silent.

6th Amendment — Rights related to criminal prosecution.

7th Amendment — Right to jury trial in civil lawsuits.

8th Amendment — Prevents cruel and unusual punishment, excessive fines.

9th Amendment — Addresses rights, retained by the people, that are not specifically enumerated in the Constitution.

10th Amendment — States that the federal government only possessed powers enumerated in the constitution.

11th Amendment — Restricts the ability of individuals to bring suit against states in federal court.

12th Amendment — Makes sure that the President and VP are elected together and the VP cannot be a runner up.

13th Amendment — Abolishes slavery and involuntary servitude.

14th Amendment — Defines citizenship, privileges or immunities clause.

15th Amendment — Prohibits denial of the right to vote based on skin colour (from the days of Jim Crow and post-slavery)

16th Amendment — Allows Congress to levy an income tax without apportioning it among the states on the basis of population.

17th Amendment — Establishes direct election Senators by popular vote.

18th Amendment — Prohibited the manufacturing or sale of alcohol in America. *(Repealed December 5, 1933 via 21st Amendment)*

19th Amendment — Prohibits the denial of the right to vote based on biological gender. (from the days of suffragettes)

20th Amendment — Outlines the start and end of a Presidency and a Vice Presidency (January 20th)

21st Amendment — Repeals 18th amendment, prohibits transport or import intoxicating liquors into U.S. states and territories where such is prohibited by law.

22nd Amendment — Sets the term limit for all sitting Presidents — 2 terms, 4 years each.

23rd Amendment — Grants District of Colombia electors in the Election.

24th Amendment — Prohibits the revocation of voting rights due to the non-payment of a poll tax or any other tax.

25th Amendment — Clarifies that the VP becomes resident if the President dies, resigns, or is removed from office; and establishes procedures for filling a vacancy in the office of the vice president and for responding to presidential disabilities.

26th Amendment — Prohibits the denial of the right of US citizens eighteen years of age or older to vote on account of age.

27th Amendment — Delays laws affecting Congressional salary from taking effect until after the next election of representatives.